Monday, January 23, 2017


BBC has revealed their cards today. Six songs and artists running for Eurovision song contest 2017 in Kyiv. The final will take place next Friday at BBC Two at 7.30pm. Mel Giedroyc will be hosting once again and despite the title You decide an expert jury has been added to the mix this year, including Bruno Tonioli, Sophie Ellis Bextor and CeCe Sammy. 
And the songs? Well, they are all decent. Nothing extraordinary or earth shakingly good. Very middle of the road "nice" ones. And we all know what happens to "nice" ones..... Freedom hearts and What are we made of caught this blogger's attention a bit more than the others.... Most have promising starts and verses but the choruses are a major let down....
Among songwriters Gabriel Alares and Emmelie De Forest. Five songs seem to have Swedish or Danish songwriters involved, all singers are X Factor rejects. Really UK? Is this the best you can offer?

Olivia Garcia - Freedom hearts
(Gabriel Alares, Sebastian Lestapier, Linnea Nelson, Laurell Barker)
Holly Brewer - I wish I loved you more
(Kevin Fisher, Courtney Harrell, Laurell Barker, Mattias Frändå,
 Johan Åsgärde, Oliver Lundström)
Lucie Jones - Never give up on you
(The Treatment, Emmelie de Forest, Lawrie Martin)
Danyl Johnson - Light up the world
(Dan McAlister, Rick Blaskey, Greg Walker, Chris Sutherland, Ameerah Roelants)
Salena Mastroianni - I don't wanna fight
(The Treatment, Nicole Blair, Marli Harwood)
Nate Simpson - What a we made of?
(Jon Hällgren, Eric Lumiere, DWB)

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...