Monday, May 26, 2014


YLE has now produced three editions of UMK (Uuden musiikin kilpailu) and done better each time. Pernilla in 2012 didn't reach the final and has since disappeared from the scene (making a comeback every year to "judge" the other entries never liking any of them, it seems), Krista Siegfrids did Eurovision historry with her kiss in 2013 and is still all over the place and recording her second album. This year Softengine was knocking the top-10 in the final finishing 11th. They are recording their debut album, charting here and there and have a summer filled with gigs. More importantly every year more artists have gained a recording deal, more visibility and gigs and so on. So, it is working after all.
But in 2015 there will be changes - all broadcasts will be live and there will be no jury! Also the producing team behind the show will partly change.
In nutshell the demos must be sent to YLE between September 1 and 8, 2014. At least one of the writers and main performers must be a Finn or permanently living in Finland, and only one song by an artist is accepted. The song may not be sent to any other national selection for Eurovision. 
More information and the final rules will be published by September 1, 2014.

No comments:


This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...