Thursday, January 09, 2014


EBU has announced today that 36 countries are to take part in Eurovision 2014 in Copenhagen next May. The number could still rise to 37 if Slovenian TV finds a sponsor within January 17th. If not, 36 it is, the lowest since Istanbul 2004 (36) or Athens 2006 (37). Portugal and Poland make a welcome comeback while Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia and Serbia from last year decided to stay home this time. Greece debuts with its new broadcaster NERIT. Bosnia & Herzegovina and Turkey continue their absense. EBU also stated that many of these countries have already expressed their intention to return next year when Eurovision song contest celebrates its 60th anniversary.

The participants are: Albania (RTSH), Armenia (AMPTV), Austria (ORF), Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV), Belarus (BTRC), Belgium (VRT), Denmark (DR), Estonia (ERR), Finland (YLE), France (France 3), Georgia (GPB), Germany (NDR), Greece (NERIT), Hungary (MTV), Iceland (RÚV), Ireland (RTÉ), Israel (IBA), Italy (RAI), Latvia (LTV), Lithuania (LRT), FYR Macedonia (MKRTV), Malta (PBS), Moldova (TRM), Montenegro (RTCG), the Netherlands (AvroTros), Norway (NRK), Poland (TVP), Portugal (RTP), Romania (TVR), Russia (RTR), San Marino (SRMTV), Spain (TVE), Sweden (SVT), Switzerland (SRG SSR), United Kingdom (BBC) and Ukraine (NTU). That means also 30 countries for the semifinals, 15 each. Unless Slovenia still joins the party, of course!

No comments:


This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...