Tuesday, May 01, 2018


EBU has revealed yesterday the juries that come up with the 50% of the final result, but with new counting system for them:Each country still has a jury with five members
Each of the five jury members still rank the songs from 1 (best) to 26 (worst). The combined ranking from a country's jury is now calculated based on an "exponential weight model". The better a jury member ranks a song, the more weight it will have in the jury's combined ranking. In other words: The lower a juror ranks a song, the smaller the impact of that ranking on the overall result, while the higher a juror ranks a song, the more impact that ranking will have. This is to even the cases if a juror puts a song last in purpore it won't harm it so much anymore, and the top ones get more weight. In other words: Divisive songs stand out better against average ones no one neither likes nor dislikes. 

Among the jurors dozens of familiar names from national finals like Bryan Rice (Denmark), Daniela Onis and Peu Madueira (Portugal), Raiven (Slovenia), Mariette (Sweden) and also past winners such as Nathan Trent (Austria), Laura Tesoro and Tom Dice (Belgium), Eurovision winner 2013 Emmelie de Forest (Denmark), Mary Roos (Germany), Eurovision winner 1993 Niamh Kavanagh (Ireland), Aminata (Latvia), Amber (Malta), Christina Scarlat (Moldova), Guri Schanke (Norway), Michal Szpak (Poland), Anabela (Portugal), Bojana Stamenov (Serbia), 

For Finland Petri Laaksonen (singer/composer of 1985 and 1987 entries), Laura Vähähyyppä (radio dj/journalist), Aija Puurtinen (singer-musicians, UMK coach), Matias Keskiruokanen (producer/composer),  Vilma Alina (singer/songwriter)

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...