I wasn't planning on doing personal reviews this year either but here we go after all. Truth to be said I have listened the entries 0-2 times before sitting down now to comment them. Let's go!
The usual Blogilkar's home jury will reunite later and the results revealed in due time. meanwhile, my thoughts and comments on the entries of Eurovision song contest series is right here.
Sweden - Felicia - My system ***
First of all it's refreshing to not see Sweden as #1 in the odds for a change. And for a change I kinda like the Swedish entry (KAJ and M&M don't count as they are not Swedish, lol) Felicia is likable, she's got the backstory, too. I like the verses, less the noisy bits. This kind of song didn't work for Belgium last year and I never liked it at all. This is less demanding and melodic in every way. Sweden will be once again in Top-10 because it's Sweden but will they reach To-5? I'm not so sure.
Belgium - Essyla - Dancing on the ice *
I don't hear or see anything here that would make me think this would reach the final. Very forgettable and unimaginative three minutes with a singer despite being most likely vocally good leaves no trace. When writing this there's no live performance to have an idea how this is going to be staged. The song drags on and on for three minutes and unless they have some spectacular staging in store besides the most likely dancers Belgium is over by Tuesday evening this year.
Estonia - Vanilla Ninja - Too epic to be true *
There's nothing epic about this except the fact Estonians fall for it. A name is a name but ask Finns if sending The Rasmus or Darude did the trick for example? Mind you, Cool vibes was epic. This is not. In my books this is a kind of song that hardly reaches Top-10 in any jury nor televoting finishing always somewhere 11th-13th and thus scores zero points. We'll see.

Comments